Skip to content

July 31, 2022 (NASCAR Cup Series)

NASCAR results from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course

The NASCAR Cup Series drivers are unloaded in Speedway, Indiana. The 14-turn Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course is set to host the Verizon 200.

View the Indianapolis results for the NASCAR Cup Series below.

Indianapolis Menu
ARK: Race
Indycar: Prac/Qual | Race
Trucks: Prac/Qual | Race
Xfinity: Practice/Qual | Race
Cup: Prac/Qual | Race

Tyler Reddick and Austin Cindric line up on the front row. 82 lapses of stock car racing are up next…

Stage 1 – Report

Laps: 15 (1-15 / 82)

Green flag, Reddick is clear into turn one. They run four wide deeper in the field and Just Haley is around, no caution.

Lap 2, Ross Chastain is around, no caution. Moments later, Denny Hamlin spins off turn 14.

Lap 5, Hamlin continues to struggle with the handling as he misses turn one.

Lap 8, Ross Chastain and Cody Ware tangle into turn one. Both are off in the grass, do not be careful.

Lap 11, Chastain heads for the pit lane to repair damage. He goes to lap down as the crew pulls on the front fender.

Lap 13, Chris Buescher hits the pit lane and catches fire! They extinguish it quickly, no caution.

3 to go in stage one, Reddick pits from the race lead.

Chase Briscoe stays out and wins stage one at the Indy Road Course.

Indianapolis Race Results (Stage 1) : 1. Chase Briscoe; 2.Ryan Blaney; 3.William Byron; 4.Joey Logano; 5. Chase Elliott; 6. Todd Gilliland; 7.Kyle Larson; 8.Kyle Busch; 9. Harrison Burton; 10. Martin Truex Jr;

Stage 2 – Report

Laps: 20 (16-35 / 82)

Briscoe and most of the others who stayed out his pit lane. Ryan Blaney, William Byron, Brad Keselowski and Corey LaJoie stay out and have yet to pit. Reddick restarts 5th and Briscoe restarts 21st.

Green flag on stage two, Blaney holds off a charge from Byron. They run five wide deeper in the field and Kevin Harvick spins.

Lap 21, Alex Bowman heads for the pit lane with a flat tire and a damaged left front.

Lap 26, Aric Almirola misses the braking zone into turn one. He drives right into the door of Kyle Larson. Larson hits the pit lane under green, the hood is up as the crew makes repairs.

Lap 30, Blaney leads with Byron on his bumper. Byron dives for the pit lane.

2 to go in stage two, Blaney and Reddick hit the pit lane.

Christopher Bell stays out and wins stage two at IMS!

Indianapolis Race Results (Stage 2) : 1. Christopher Bell; 2.Kyle Busch; 3. Bubba Wallace; 4. Chase Elliott; 5.Ty Dillon; 6. Denny Hamlin; 7. Chase Briscoe; 8.Cole Custer; 9. Erik Jones; 10. Cody Ware;

Stage 3 – Report

Laps: 47 (36-82 / 82)

Bell stays out with a plan to pit in about 10 laps.

Green flag on stage three, Bell leads the field out of turn one. They run three wide for 3rd behind him.

Lap 41, Keselowski spins in turn 7.

Lap 50, Tyler Reddick is all over the bumper of Christopher Bell in the battle for the lead. He dives to his inside of him in turn 12, Reddick to the lead with slightly fresher tires and more fuel.

Lap 51, Reddick and Bell both hit the pit lane.

Lap 53, Brad Keselowski jumps the curb and spins out of turn 6. He’s spun multiple times today.

Lap 54, Blaney pits for fuel only. He re-joins the track just ahead of Christopher Bell. With fresher tires, Bell works around him to take the position back.

23 to go, Daniil Kvyat coasts to the pit lane with a mechanical issue.

22 to go, Kyle Larson misses turn one with a possible brake issue and he slams into Ty Dillon! The caution is out. Joey hand leads as he’s yet to pit with Reddick in 2nd.

Hand heads for the pit lane. Reddick cycles to the lead.

Green, Reddick throws a block on Ryan Blaney into turn one. Blaney cuts to his outside and they run side by side for the lead. Reddick holds him off as Blaney takes over 2nd. Allmendinger and Bell rubs doors and fight for space behind them.

18 to go, Kevin Harvick and Alex Bowman tangle, no caution.

17 to go, Chase Elliott dives inside of Allmendinger heading into turn 12, Elliott to 3rd.

9 to go, Elliott outbrakes Blaney into turn one, Elliott to 2nd. Reddick leads Elliott by 3.6 seconds.

6 to go

6 to go, Christopher Bell has a flat right front pull. He has scatters debris on the track and the caution is out.

Most of the field stays out. Hamlin pits from 14th.

Green, Elliott gets the jump and noses ahead before turning one. Reddick is late to the brakes and clears him, Reddick leads. Byron tags Blaney, Blaney is pushed into Elliott. Elliott and Byron spin out of turn one!

3 to go, Austin Dillon is around and stuck in a sand trap, caution.

Green, Reddick throws a block on Blaney. Reddick is clear into turn one as they run four wide for 2nd. Blaney gets turned!

Chastain works inside of Reddick. Chastain is completely sideways over the curbs, he saves it and takes the lead.

Reddick has a run into turn 12. He drives by to retake the lead.

1 to go, Reddick leads with Chastain and Cindric on his bumper.

Tyler Reddick holds him off to win on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course!

Penalty: Ross Chastain will be penalized as he used the access road in turn one to gain positions.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Race Results
July 31, 2022
NASCAR Cup Series

post | drivers

1.Tyler Reddick
2. Ross Chastain*
3. Austin Cindric
4. Harrison Burton
5. Todd Gilliland
6. Bubba Wallace
7.Joey Logano
8. A. J. Allmendinger
9. Michael McDowell
10. Cole Custer
11.Chris Buescher
12. Kyle Busch
13. Christopher Bell
14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
15. Denny Hamlin
16. Erik Jones
17. Chase Elliott
18.Ty Gibbs
19. Corey LaJoie
20. Justin Hayley
21. Brad Keselowski
22. Martin Truex Jr.
23. Josh Bilicki
24. Chase Briscoe
25. Cody Ware
26.Josh Williams
27.Ryan Blaney
28. Daniel Suarez
29. Austin Dillon
30. Joey Hand
31.William Byron
32. Alex Bowman
33.Kevin Harvick
34.Ty Dillon
35. Kyle Larson
36. Daniil Kvyat
37. Loris Hezemans
38. Aric Almirola

* Ross Chastain crossed the line in 2nd. However, after a penalty for cutting the course on the last restart he’s been regulated to 27th.

NASCAR Cup Series
Point Standings

post | drivers | Wins / Points | Playoff Points

1. Chase Elliott
4 Wins | 25PP

2. Ross Chastain
2 Wins | 14PP

3.William Byron
2 Wins | 13PP

4.Joey Logano
2 Wins | 12PP

5.Tyler Reddick
2 Wins | 12PP

6. Denny Hamlin
2 Wins | 12PP

7. Kyle Larson
1 Win | 8PP

8. Chase Briscoe
1 Win | 8PP

9. Daniel Suarez
1 Win | 7PP

10. Kurt Busch
1 Win | 7PP

11. Christopher Bell
1 Win | 6PP

12. Kyle Busch
1 Win | 6PP

13. Alex Bowman
1 Win | 6PP

14. Austin Cindric
1 Win | 6PP

15.Ryan Blaney

16. Martin Truex Jr.

— Playoff Cutline —

17. Kevin Harvick

18. Aric Almirola

19. Erik Jones

20. Bubba Wallace

Indy Road Course
Video Highlights
July 31, 2022



Indianapolis Raceway Park | NASCAR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.